ARC Review // The Infinite Noise by Lauren Shippen

Book Review

Author: Lauren Shippen
Date: 24 Sep 2019
Publisher: Macmillan-Tom Doherty Associates

Caleb Michaels seems to be a normal teenager. He is in the football team, has average grades and is one of the popular students. However, there is something about him that even he doesn’t know about. He has a very big issue with anger to stay focused. He also feels overwhelmed if he’s surrounded by too many people.

After he got into a fight with one of his classmates, his parents make an appointment with a therapist for him. This day explains everything that he felt for a long time. Therapist discovered in his characteristics of people called Atypical. He’s an empath. It means that he can feel people emotions. At first, it’s very hard because he cannot see a difference between his emotions and people emotions. His therapist teaches him how to see them as the colors so he can differentiate them from each other. It’s not getting easier for him as he is surrounded by a lot of students every day at school. He tries to find a getaway from it. One day, he catches feelings of one person that helps him to get rid of other people emotions.

Adam Hayes’s life isn’t the easier one for a long time. He struggles with depression, school bullying, lack of friends and the absence of his parents that work all the time. He’s one of the smartest people in the school but it doesn’t help him with popularity. He doesn’t see any upcoming light to his life until Caleb Michaels comes to his life and tries to befriend him. At first, he cannot understand how this is happening. He has a crush on Caleb for a long time and as much as he dreamed about spending time with him, he still thinks it’s just a kind of prank.

They are both light and a getaway for each other. They also both have secrets that can turn them from each other.

My thoughts:

Let’s start with both the main characters of the book that I admire more than anything else. I can’t even say who I like more because both were just so unique and perfect. Adam on one side sarcastic and confident and the other soft and broken. Caleb as much as he seems confident, he also has his doubts and issues. They both needed someone who will help them to get through life and they found each other. They never thought how it will turn out at the end and that’s the most beautiful part of this story. The story shows that gender doesn’t matter if it comes to love. Love is love and that’s the only thing that matters.

I love the aspect of Caleb being an empath in the book. The way he knew people emotions and he used it for his advantage in the conversation is priceless. The book has two sides: the sad one and a humorous one. I laughed a lot but also cried during reading it. It reminded me about the book Will Grayson, Will Grayson because it had a similar vibe as this book. I love both so I need more books like this in my life.

I think a part of the story when they get to know each other more is my favorite one. Their thoughts just were so hilarious. As much as you think Adam will be the shy one, Caleb struggling with it at the beginning as well. I don’t know if it’s because of Adam’s emotions but it’s still very cute how much they blush next to each other.

I think this book is a perfect read for anyone that likes to read high school love stories, LGBTQ books, and unique stories. I can’t wait until the book will be published so I can buy a copy for myself and read it again. This book is a need on our shelves and believes me I am not saying it often.

I would like to thank Netgalley and Macmillan-Tom Doherty Associates for providing me this copy in exchange for an honest review. I was enjoying a book more than I thought I will.

Rate: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Quotes

… it was like his feelings were the water. I could feel them all the time, but sometimes there would be a big wave and the feeling would sort of cover everything up for a moment and then go back again.

… the only thing out of the ordinary is me.

The cacophony inside of me transforms into a symphony. There’s no warm up, no build; just instant, intricate, immeasurably beautiful music.

The icy weather is a distant memory – every part of me is drowned in the most comfortable fire.

I want to be your superhero.

Things are going to be hard. But for the first time, I start to wonder if things might be easier together.

“Neither of us is going to be the normal,” he says practically. “I think it’s best we just accept that.”

Twitter Goodreads Instagram

Leave a comment