Review // The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Book Review

The story about the destiny of two young and completely different people.
Natasha doesn’t believe in fate, love, and things that cannot be explained by science. She’s living in New York together with her parents and younger brother. She moved from Jamaica to America when she was 8 years old for her dad so he can make his dreams come true and become an actor. Unfortunately, after many years they will be deported back to Jamaica because of their illegal residency in the USA. On a day of deportation, she tries to find a way to convince the judge to let her family stay in New York.
Daniel was born in America but comes from a Korean family. His parents have already planned all his future life as a medical student at Yale University when he doesn’t even know who he wants to become and the only thing he can think about is writing poems. On the same day as Natasha has an appointment with a layer, he has an interview for Yale.

Their ways cross more than one time and Daniel takes his chance and tries to get to know her. He believes that all that happened wasn’t accidental, and it was their destiny. However, Natasha doesn’t believe in any of his theories but despite it, she gives him a chance to prove it to her because for the one time in her life she wants to believe and have hope.

An amazing story about different circumstances that bring together two different people and show that love cannot be predicted and emotions can’t be controlled. The thing I liked in this book was that even stories of a random people that were a reason they kept meeting each other, were showed and explained. We have a whole view of all events, thoughts, and history of all the characters of the book. The writing style was another advantage of the book. If you read the book ‘Everything, Everything’ by Nicola Yoon, you will also like this one.

Favorite Quotes

There’s a Japanese phrase that I like: koi no yokan. It doesn’t mean love at first sight. It’s closer to love at second sight. It’s the feeling when you meet someone that you’re going to fall in love with them. Maybe you don’t love them right away, but it’s inevitable that you will.

Maybe part of falling in love with someone else is also falling in love with yourself.

We are capable of big lives. A big history. Why settle? Why choose the practical thing, the mundane thing? We are born to dream and make the things we dream about.

“I don’t believe in love.”

“It’s not a religion,” he says. “It exists whether you believe in it or not.” 

“Stars are important,” I say, laughing.

“Sure, but why not more poems about the sun? The sun is also a star, and it’s our most important one. That alone should be worth a poem or two.” 

I didn’t know you this morning, and now I don’t remember not knowing you.

Twitter Goodreads Instagram

6 thoughts on “Review // The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

  1. Ooh, those are all such fantastic quotes! I was very iffy about if I enjoyed this book or not, because I’m generally against insta love, but that was sort of the point of the book? Right after I finished reading it, I think I was a bit negative towards it, but now a few months later I’m looking at it in a more positive light. I’m also really looking forward to watching the movie eventually.

    Like

    1. I know what you are talking about. I have it as well with many books like this but I really liked this one. I also want to watch a movie a lot!

      Like

  2. I loved Everything, Everything but I couldn’t get through this book very well. I admit, I have kept it though because I wasn’t in the right frame of mine. I might need to watch it before the movie comes out. Great review.

    Like

Leave a comment