Review // The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Book review

Hello, my lovely readers! As I was on my way to Malaga, I started to read ‘The Book Thief’. This book was waiting for me on my bookshelf already for a few months and I finally decided to read it during my trip.

‘The Book Thief’ tells a story about little girl Liesel Meminger. A story begins in train where she, her mother and brother were on their way to new foster family. Unfortunately, Liesel was the only one who reaches the final station. First months in a new unfamiliar place were very hard for her. Her foster parents are complete opposites from each other. Her foster father Hans Hubermann is a caring and kind man who was a first person, who reaches out a hand to Liesel. He taught her how to read, write and love books even if he wasn’t good in it. However, her foster mother Rosa Hubermann is a strong, strict woman, who cannot easily show her feelings. Despite it, she is a good person and a caring mother. Their family isn’t wealthy and World War II doesn’t make things easier for them. Even then together with her friend, she knew how to bring small happiness to their lives. That’s when stealing the books begin and love to book grow. Their lives got harder when the Jew knocks to their door. The Jew who becomes a friend, member of the family and a person who brings warmth to their house.

Sad reality and life of the poor German family during the II World War shown from the little girl‘s point of view. Beautiful friendships, finding love heartbreaking loss and finding happiness in simple stolen books. These are the things you can find in this wonderful book.
I love all of Liesel’s friendships that began in this book. Friendship with Hans and Rosa Hubermann, Max Vandenburg, Rudy Steiner – all of them have a beautiful value. They taught her what love means.

I didn’t expect that I will enjoy reading this book as much as I did. The book have a lot of important values that people are forgetting these days. It’s not a book for everyone. It’s a very sad and heartbreaking story so if you don’t like to cry during reading a book, don’t even try to buy this book. The ending absolutely destroyed me. I couldn’t stop crying for another 15 minutes after the ending. Personally, I think it is the best book I’ve read this year and I would like to thank my boyfriend for buying me it. It’s a beautiful gift that brought this wonderful story and new adventure to my life.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Favorite quotes

The only thing worse than a boy who hates you: a boy that loves you.

I have hated words and I have loved them, and I hope I have made them right.

It kills me sometimes, how people die.

Words are life.

If only she could be so oblivious again, to feel such love without knowing it, mistaking it for laughter.

Like most misery, it started with apparent happiness.

Even death has a heart.

I hope you enjoyed my review! In the next post I will write short reviews about books I read and listen to in 2019.

You can find me on InstagramGoodreadsTwitter❤️

Love,
Karolina

Leave a comment